Governor Diri Swears In 14 Commissioners, Others


Governor of Bayelsa State, Douye Diri, on Monday, swore in 14 new commissioners, newly-elected chairmen of the eight local government councils, their vice chairmen as well as the chairman of the Bayelsa State Board of Internal Revenue, Daniel Iniekezimene.

The ceremony took place inside the Executive Council Chambers of Government House, Yenagoa.

The re-appointed cabinet members, who served in the governor’s first term and retained their portfolios, include Biriyai Dambo SAN (Attorney-General and Commissioner for Justice), Moses Teibowei (Works and Infrastructure), Maxwell Ebibai (Finance), Dr. Gentle Emelah (Education), Daniel Igali (Sports Development) and Preye Brodericks (Special Duties, Bayelsa East).

Others who returned but were re-deployed are Dr Ebieri Jones, who was assigned to Trade and Industry from Mineral Resources while Flint George, who served as Special Duties, Bayelsa Central, was assigned to Budget and Economic Planning.

The newly appointed commissioners are Mrs Ebiwou Koku-Obiyai (Labour and Productivity), Michael Magbisa (Special Duties, Bayelsa West), Elizabeth Bidei (Women Affairs), Peter Afagha (Mineral Resources), and Komuku Kharim (Power).

Diri said the ceremony marked a pivotal moment in the state’s journey as he commences his second term.

He said during the first tenure, the administration laid the groundwork for a prosperous Bayelsa across various sectors, noting, however, that there was still much work to be done.

According to him, “this event underscores your dedication to fostering inclusive prosperity for all Bayelsans. On behalf of the government and the people of our state, I extend my sincere congratulations to each of you.”

He charged them to initiate legacy projects and programmes in their various ministries as their role carried significant responsibilities to accelerate development of the state.

The governor equally charged them to exercise prudent financial management to ensure efficient resource utilisation and foster collaboration among their peers for effective synergy, as their functions complement each other.

To the newly sworn-in local government chairmen and vice chairmen, Diri stressed that the Prosperity Government was poised to strengthening the third-tier of government to foster development in communities.

The new council chairmen are Lucky Febo (Brass), Isaac Oniye (Ekeremor)

Tariye Isaac (Kolokuma/Opokuma ), David Alagoa (Nembe), Golden Jeremiah (Ogbia), Mrs. Alice Tangi (Sagbama), Target Segibo (Southern Ijaw) and Boludisiye Ndiwari (Yenagoa).

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.