Rivers Assembly to re-screen, reconfirm 9 former commissioners


The Rivers State House of Assembly is to re-screen and re-confirm nine former commissioners who resigned from the state executive council on Wednesday.

This is contained in a statement signed by the Clerk of the House, Mr Emeka Amadi, on Monday in Port Harcourt.

The clerk said the commissioners include Attorney General and Commissioner for Justice, Prof. Zacchaeus Adangor (SAN), Commissioner for Works, Dr Des George-Kelly, Commissioner for Special Duties, Emeka Woke, Commissioner for Social Welfare and Rehabilitation, Mrs Inime Aguma, Commissioner for Finance, Isaac Kamalu.

Others are the Commissioner for Education, Prof. Chinedu Mmom; the Commissioner for Housing, Dr Gift Worlu; the Commissioner for Transport, Dr Jacobson Nbina; and the Commissioner for Environment, Austin Ben-Chioma, who resigned.

He said they are expected to produce 40 sets of their Curriculum Vitae (CV), photocopies, and original copies of their credentials to the Rivers State House of Assembly and Legislative Quarters (venue for the screening).

The News Agency of Nigeria (NAN) reports that on December 16, 2023, a gale of resignations hit the state’s executive council following the political crisis between the governor of the state, Fubara, and his predecessor, the Minister of Federal Capital Territory, Nyesom Wike.

Adangor, George-Kelly, Worlu, Aguma, Kamalu, Mmom, and Ben-Chioma resigned.

NAN also reports that the reinstatement of the former commissioners who resigned their appointments formed part of the demands of President Tinubu’s peace agreement with Gov. Fubara.