PDP govs declare confidence in judiciary after review of S’Court verdict


Governors elected on the platform of the Peoples Democratic Party have restated their faith and confidence in the judiciary.

This is coming six days after the Supreme Court affirmed the victory of President Bola Tinubu of the All Progressives Congress in the February 25 presidential poll.

The apex court dismissed the appeals filed by the PDP candidate, Atiku Abubakar, and Peter Obi of the Labour Party, challenging Tinubu’s victory.

The PDP Governors’ Forum met in Abuja on Tuesday to deliberate on the issue and related ones.

Addressing journalists after the meeting, the Chairman of the PDP Governors’ Forum and Bauchi State Governor, Bala Mohammed, said, “The meeting noted the recent judgment of the Supreme Court on the 2023 presidential election and believes that this brings an end to the presidential election cycle as there must be an end to litigation.

 “As a forum, we believe and restate our faith and confidence in the judiciary to do justice in political and other cases before the courts. We are concerned that while the Supreme Court has laid down precedents on pre-election issues, the PDP candidates in Plateau State are being disqualified on the same grounds. We urge the judiciary at the apex level to ensure that our jurisprudence is not distorted. We remain vigilant in the struggle for democracy and good governance in the country.”

Mohammed said the PDP governors “vowed to reposition and strengthen the PDP as a viable opposition political party ready and willing to play its role as the vanguard of the Nigerian people for democracy, good governance and accountability.”

On the national economy, the PDP governors’ forum called for urgent intervention of the Federal Government to stabilise the naira, control inflation, stem the unemployment crises and bring more succour to Nigerians.

Governors that attended include Osun State Governor, Ademola Adeleke; Edo State Governor, Godwin Obaseki, Delta State Governor, Sheriff Orohwedor, Zamfara State Governor; Dauda Lawal and Bayelsa State Governor, Douye Diri.

Others include Taraba State Governor, Kefas Agbu, Adamawa State Governor, Amadu Fintiri, Enugu State Governor, Peter Mbah and Plateau State Governor, Caleb Mutfwang.

Members of the PDP National Working Committee that attended the meeting include the acting National Chairman, Umar Damagum, National Organising Secretary, Umar Bature, National Vice Chairman, South East, Ali Odefa and National Vice Chairman, South West, Amb. Taofeek Arapaja.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.