President Tinubu Grants approval for kick off For Six Newly Established Fed. Universities


President Bola Tinubu has approved the phased commencement of six out of the fourteen new Universities established in the last days of President Muhammadu Buhari’s administration.

The Minister of Education, Tahir Mamman made this known on Wednesday after a closed-door meeting with President Tinubu at the State House.

Prof. Mamman stated that the initial phase will involve the launching of two universities in the fields of agriculture, two as Colleges of Education, and two focusing on the field of medicine.

“There are very many, probably about a dozen of them, if not more than a dozen or 14, that’s the number and you know tertiary institutions are highly capital intensive, they need a lot of money, especially at that takeoff stage, for infrastructure, staff recruitment and all other needs. 


“So by the time you want to start about 12, 14 institutions at once is a very heavy burden on the finances of government, so that’s why. 

He explained that the government would consider reassessing whether to proceed with other institutions, however, a significant number of them are specialized in nature, such as colleges of education, agriculture, and medicine.

The Minister affirmed that these institutions are strategically aligned with the key mandates and priorities of President Tinubu’s administration.

“Ordinarily we would have said we’ll review whether we should go ahead with that, but most of them are specialized institutions; colleges of education, agriculture, medicine and they are institutions that will support some of the mandates, the priority areas of this government. 


“We will need trained teachers, which colleges of education will provide and the same thing with agric. So that’s why the government has not stepped down that approval, instead, the President in his wisdom said we stager their implementation on the grounds of funds. “We’re starting with about six, two of each; two agric, two colleges of education and then two medicines.” Dr Mamman added.

Some of the Universities established during the said period are David Nweze Umahi Federal University of Medical Sciences, Uburu, Federal University of Transport Daura, Katsina, Shehu Shagari University of Education, Sokoto, Admiralty University Ibusa, Delta State.

The Minister mentioned that the President also approved the completion of the National Library which has been projected to be completed in 21 months as the nation’s depository.

“On the National Library, a national monument, I briefed the President about the need to get it completed he is happy with the proposition.

The Former Governor of Nasarawa State, Tanko Almakura also visited the President on Wednesday, he called for support for the administration of President Tinubu saying that significant strides are being taken to alleviate the concerns of Nigerians, both in terms of security and their economic well-being.

“I had a very wonderful discussion with him, and given his disposition and vision towards making this country great. I’ve seen the renewed hope agenda as something that will change the scheme of things for the better for this country, especially in the areas of security, and economic development, and already you can start seeing how sustainable growth and sustainability are being achieved. 

“If you look at the area of security, you’ll see that a lot of efforts are being made to calm the fears of Nigerians in the economic sector too and the well-being of Nigerians. I think Nigerians should be patient, I’m sure sooner than later, the vision and policies of this administration will look positively on Nigerians,” the Former Governor stated