President Tinubu Approves Seven New Tertiary Institutions


The Nigerian President, Bola Ahmed Tinubu has given approved for immediate establishment of seven new Tertiary institutions in the nation to further boost access to quality education.

The approval contains conversion of colleges of Education to Federal Universities of Education.

The new institutions are in specialised ones in the areas of Agriculture, Education, Medical and Health Sciences.

The development is contained in a statement by the Assistant Director, Press and Public Relations Department, Federal Ministry of Education, Mrs Augustina Duru on behalf of the Minister of Education, Professor Tahir Mamman

According to the statement, “the Federal Universities are: Federal University of Medical and Health Science, Kwale, Delta State, Federal University of Agriculture, Mubi, Adamawa state.”

“The Colleges of Education to be converted to Federal Universities of Education includes, Adeyemi College of Education, Ondo Atate and Alvan Ikoku Federal College of Education, Owerri, Imo state.

“The new Colleges of Education are Federal College of Education, Ilawe Ekiti Atate, Federal College of Education, Idideng Ibiono, Akwa Ibom, Federal College of Education (Technical) Yauri Kebbi state,” the statement reads.

It added that the establishment and conversion of these institutions is a further demonstration of President Tinubu’s Renewed Hope Agenda” and will help in improving access to quality tertiary education in the country.